What does school have to do with my kink life? Well I’ll tell you.

I just read a really great blog on the American school system, and what a mess it is. I highly suggest this article for any parents. One of the things that I’ve always been really good at is following the beat of my own drum. I remember in elementary school, I wouldn’t finish my homework. It was repetitive and I could tell. So I would do a few problems then stop. Because I’d already proved that I knew how to answer the questions. This is one of the points made in the post. The way we teach children is boring, unimaginative, repetitive, and produces children that have low self esteem. We learn to memorize and regurgitate without considering or critical thinking. It’s a bad idea. Unless you want a society of people who simply accept things they are told and don’t question anything. It also teaches children to seek outside validation instead of internal validation. Also a bad idea.

We are training future generations to be sheep. We’re giving them trophies for doing nothing. We’re telling them that if you aren’t perfect then you’re a horrible failure. Another good point that it made was that we learn best from our failures. We learn it’s ok to take chances. It’s ok to get it wrong sometimes. Then we have more data to look at and build a better mouse trap. 

One thing that I think is a positive about being a stubborn, introverted person is that I didn’t internalize many of the things above. I never stopped questioning things and examining them. When I found kink, I jumped right in. I didn’t really worry about what anyone else thought or that it might mean that I was a horrible person because I like the things I like. I looked things over like examining the facets of a jewel, and determined the jewel was just right for me. And it was beautiful. I haven’t looked back since. I started out on the opposite side of the slash. Turns out I was completely wrong about that. I’m not submissive. Oh well! A little failure. I wouldn’t say it’s made me a better dominant. But it’s an experience in my life that helped to make me who I am and I wouldn’t trade it. At the very least, I can tell all those smug bastard dominants out there who assume I just haven’t found the right dominant man yet … that I’ve already tried submission on for size and it doesn’t fit. At any rate, I think I’m just feeling lucky today. Because I’m feeling very lucky to be a stubborn introvert right now.

Leave a Reply

