This is my life: it takes all kinds

I made a comment to someone I don’t really know very well. More of an acquaintance than anything else. And barely one of those really. It’s more a friend of a friend of a friend that I only know tangentially. At any rate, it reminds me of two things:

First, I have chosen my friends very carefully. I have chosen them so carefully that we often don’t have much variance in our lifestyles or politics. There is a little bit, but not that much. For the most part, we’re similar people. It’s why we get along well. I suppose that is natural. But because of that, my world view (in an immediate sense) is somewhat limited. Yes, I do realize there is a whole wide world outside my own country. But things outside of a first world/western perspective are more of a theoretical concept than my reality.

Second, because of the first thing, I can completely forget that other people have wildly differing opinions or priorities than I (and most of my friends) do. But really it takes all kinds of opinions and priorities to make the world go round. Mine aren’t the best or only opinions or priorities. Neither are anyone else’s. But after a bit of a smack in the proverbial face, I feel a bit annoyed. (I probably shouldn’t try to be polite to relative strangers, it’s not my strong suit) But I also feel grateful for the reminder. I probably wouldn’t get that kind of water in the face in my insular world from within.

Leave a Reply

