Blackbird

I saw a lovely black bird today. It was perched atop the luggage rack of the car in front of me. It was a lovely blue-black and was clearly very territorial about what it considered its car. It was strutting around and puffing up its feathers… fanning its tail. Any time someone walked by, it hopped over to that side of the roof and watched them to make sure they weren’t coming too close to its territory. When I walked up to get back into my car, it hopped over to my side and eyed me suspiciously. I watched it until another bird came too close and it took off after the invader.

It was somehow touching to watch that pretty bird protecting its rooftop. Maybe because I’m so territorial myself.

Leave a Reply

